Hi Mom!

I turned on the TV this morning and was greeted by the “Hi Mom” aria created by NFL Films. This was a collection of clips of NFL players saying “Hi Mom” with a take of “Il Largo Factotum” from the “Barber of Seville” in the background. If you haven’t seen it or can’t recall it, check out https://youtu.be/CP1ZtcH5RQM.

As I was watching these big burly dudes saying “Hi Mom” a question popped into my head: When did the term ‘Momma’s boy’ become a pejorative? I’m willing to be that each of those players who were part of the video will tell you that they are Momma’s boys and proud of it!

For whatever reason, my mind also went to the ceremonies of DeMolay and I thought about the number of references to mothers that are made.

In Public Installation of Officers, while the incoming Master Councilor is kneeling before the altar with both of his hands upon the Holy Scriptures, he is asked, “Do you promise, upon your honor as a DeMolay, that you will demand of each member clean living, high respect for parents and deference to womanhood?”

If Chapter functions, whether open or private, reaches the hour of nine o’clock in the evening, the brothers are required to give the Nine O’Clock Interpolation. In this prayer, the Chaplain prays for a “special blessing for our mothers who have watched over us with unceasing care during all the years of our lives”

From my favorite ceremony, the Flower Talk: “DeMolay can ask no more of you than that you shall endeavor so to live as to be worthy of your mother’s love.”

I’m sure that if I took a deeper dive that I would find more, but there is no doubt in my mind that the ceremonies of DeMolay allow me to say that I’m a Momma’s boy and damn proud of it!

Because at the end of the day…there is nothing effeminate in the home loving, mother-loving, father-loving young man, gratefully remembering the debt he can never repay, but striving to pay it in thoughtful consideration, courtesy, affectionate and dutiful obedience. 

Hi Mom!

Leave a comment